Posted by: Dana Rader | March 26, 2013

A Teachable Moment

I have spent the past thirty three years teaching golf. In all the years out on the range I have come to one basic conclusion for all golfers. You must have a coach/teacher to play the game and enjoy it.

 I played basketball in high school and had a coach at every practice and every game. Helping me with the mistakes I was making and teaching me new and better skills.

Golf is skill based and cannot be learned by reading a few tips or taking a lesson every three or four years or listening to your friends out on the course. The students that excel at the game are the ones that work on developing their skills through practice and ongoing support from a trusted coach.

How many lessons do you need? The answer is lessons are a lifetime in which the student continues to get their swing tweaked and their on course performance evaluated.

I have had so many of my students tell me “wow, I wish I would have taken lessons years ago but I’m glad I’m doing it now.”

 Once a good teacher instills a solid foundation with your fundamentals and mechanics, lessons become less frequent and the game becomes more fun. To get a solid foundation it takes time but the benefits are remarkable.

 Take time this year to work on your game and develop the skills necessary to have success no matter what level you play. When I see golfers out on the course with poor fundamentals I want to help them and tell them there is a better way to play this great game. You will avoid unnecessary frustration, injuries and most of all confusion.

 Enjoy the journey with the greatest game ever played.

Best to you,
Dana


Leave a comment

Categories